Fujimi 1/72 F-4G Phantom

A couple of years ago I bought a Fujimi F-4G via Evil bay and although I would have preferred the Hasegawa kit, it has been out of production for years and fetch stupid prices when they appear on auction sites. Mind you Fujimi F-4’s are not that cheap either so when I saw this, I made a bid for it even though I knew it was damaged and won the kit for £10 UK.

The damage was quite severe to say the least;

The starboard fuselage was completely severed however most importantly all the bits were there. The idea was to try and repair the damage but if it didn’t work out, I was going to use various bits from the kit and stick them on an Italeri F-4E that had just been re-released at the time.

After seeing that a Phantom-related decal sheet has just been released (Caracal 1/72 RF-4C’s but that will be another blog post), I was actually thinking of building an RF-4C but when looking at the Hannants website to see what aftermarket was available, I saw Reskit exhausts for the F-4G so that drew me back to the Fujimi kit I got two years ago.

Yesterday I got the kit out of the stash to see if it was a worthwhile project and the repairs were pretty good to the fuselage and fuel tanks so I’ve decided to have a go at it. The Fujimi Phantoms were not THAT bad but the main criticism was about the panel lines as they are quite fine but apparently don’t hold a wash very well. I thought that I could rescribe them to make the panel lines deeper so starting with the undersides of the wing I did just that, unfortunately the plastic is quite hard and the rescribing didn’t make that much difference to the depth so I’ll leave it as is;

So we’ll go from there and this will probably be yet another ongoing project that will be revisited from time to time. Funny thing is I have a at least seven or eight other F-4 kits in the stash yet the last one I built was back in the 80s (the Fujimi 1/72 F-4C) so I really should address the lack of Phantoms on the shelf.

Edit; a couple of hours later and it took some doing due to warpage but the fuselage is together along with the wings;

I’ll leave this to set for a day or so. I also figured out that the Aries cockpit can be fitted after so with a little bit of trimming, especially for the instrument shroud under the windscreen it goes in quite nicely, even if it was designed for the Hasegawa kit.

Published by andyk21

I've been a modelmaker for a verrry long time and still show no signs of growing out of it after 50 plus years. I mainly build tanks, aircraft and paint figures but generally do whatever takes my fancy whether it's historical, Science-fiction, a 'what-if' or because it has pretty colours and looks nice. I'm hoping that you find my blog interesting and useful, particularly if building a model that I have built and documented here.

Leave a comment

Ethan's Modelling Blog

Published scale modeller, building for Airfix Model World and Scale Aircraft Modelling, as well as for myself.

Not Quite Mechanised

Operational-Level Tabletop Wargaming Rules

MODEL AIRPLANE MAKER

Building and improving scale models

SPENCER POLLARD'S KIT BOX

Where building models, is all we ever want to do!